Welcome to Deeper Than Shallow

Dear Readers, 

Welcome to Deeper Than Shallow.

Deeper Than Shallow was born from my desire to write more than 2200 characters - the limit imposed by Instagram on photo captions.

I would often find myself thinking and saying, “instagram feels shallow. I want more depth.”

I can’t remember where or how Deeper Than Shallow came to me, but I do know that when I first shared it with my husband, he told me that it sounded like the name of an adult entertainment video. LOL…I’m cool with it.

It took me over a year to write a true “about” for Deeper Than Shallow. The initial tagline was: “Deep thoughts mixed with less deep things.”

A year after my first essay, that still remains so.


A lot of my deep thoughts, that I feel called to share, revolve around the intersections of identity, personal dissolutions and evolutions, relationships, parenting, and my journey as a spiritual seeker.

In 2024, I plan to include more reflections on the nuances of sobriety, the everevoling dance of living as a spiritual being inhabiting a human form, and contemplations from spiritual books and texts that both anchor me here + now, and propel me forward.

Also, this year, I will wean my son from breastfeeding. For the last 5+ years, I have either been pregnant and/or breastfeeding (my daughter is 4 and my son will be 2 in March). I am sexcited  (scared + excited) for this transition - as it has many physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional layers - I look forward to sharing this passage with you.

And, expect to receive “less deep things”, too: my favorite shows, podcasts, and other things I love here on Earth.

Writing and sharing are two of my deepest spiritual practices. I appreciate you for reading.

With love,

Julia

Written January 2024


Your subscription means the World to me.

Free Subscribers receive occasional public posts.

Sometime in 2024 (once my son starts preschool), I plan to offer extra special benefits for Paid Subscribers (think guided meditations with journal prompts, guided sharing circles, and intimate stories that I would rather share with a closer-knit community).

Presently, Paid Subscribers receive access to every post and the merriment of supporting an independent artist.

And, Founding Members receive full access, the merriment of support, and a once-a-year live or recorded Angel Card reading via zoom.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Images: Rainbow Road Studios